Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

The place to discuss general topics.
Discussions on RICOH THETA shooting techniques, spherical images or self-made apps on theta360.com, introduction of attachments, etc.

Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

Postby kertgartner » 14 Dec 2015, 16:06

Is there any way to disable the super annoying "blip" sound that the Theta S makes when capturing a timelapse? I can't believe there's no option for that.
kertgartner
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 16:43

Re: Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

Postby mbirth » 15 Dec 2015, 13:06

Yup, there's a setvolume command in both APIs. Once you set the volume to 0, it's permanently silenced.
mbirth
 
Posts: 122
Joined: 30 Apr 2015, 13:53

Re: Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

Postby BEEW2015 » 15 Dec 2015, 19:25

I haven't found any Theta S app yet with a volume button. There are a few for the m15 though. I suppose someone will publish an app with this functionality soon. Until then, one way is to connect to the API via a computer. If you don't know how to, you can use the excellent guide from Craig Oda: http://codetricity.github.io/theta-s/

Then use the following to quiet the blip (the SID may differ from the example below):

{
"name": "camera.setOptions",
"parameters": {
"sessionId": "SID_0001",
"options": {
"_shutterVolume":0
}
}
}
BEEW2015
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Aug 2015, 08:33

Re: Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

Postby kertgartner » 15 Dec 2015, 22:08

That's cool, though I really need it as an app for my phone. The first person to develop a standalone timelapse app for the Theta S that can mute the volume will be getting my $$ :D
kertgartner
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 16:43

Re: Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

Postby HonbanGaan » 17 Dec 2015, 08:08

kertgartner wrote:That's cool, though I really need it as an app for my phone. The first person to develop a standalone timelapse app for the Theta S that can mute the volume will be getting my $$ :D

if you are using android phone, there is an app can mute the volume
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.theta360.jsontest
HonbanGaan
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 29 Jun 2015, 09:02

Re: Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

Postby kertgartner » 20 Dec 2015, 00:56

Oh that's awesome - I wish it was on iOS! :D
HonbanGaan wrote:
kertgartner wrote:That's cool, though I really need it as an app for my phone. The first person to develop a standalone timelapse app for the Theta S that can mute the volume will be getting my $$ :D

if you are using android phone, there is an app can mute the volume
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.theta360.jsontest
kertgartner
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 16:43

Re: Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

Postby racife » 20 Dec 2015, 19:17

If you know somebody with an android phone, you can borrow their phone to set the sound setting.

Seems like the setting sticks with the theta once it has been set.
racife
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 Dec 2015, 19:16

Re: Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

Postby kertgartner » 20 Dec 2015, 20:28

Oh, that's interesting!! Thanks for the heads up!
racife wrote:If you know somebody with an android phone, you can borrow their phone to set the sound setting.

Seems like the setting sticks with the theta once it has been set.
kertgartner
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 16:43

Re: Turning sound off when capturing time-lapse?

Postby MatthewW » 24 Dec 2015, 17:50

Here's a simple PHP script to set the volume setting:

https://gist.github.com/mwegner/1eecc5935527801f2f1a

(Runs on OS X out of the box, I guess would run on a Windows/Linux setup too if you had PHP configured with cURL).
MatthewW
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 17:09


Return to Everything About RICOH THETA



All times are UTC