Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

The place to discuss development topics.
Discussions on the RICOH THETA API and SDK, image processing of spherical images, other hardware related topics, introduction of useful libraries, etc.

Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby jvrtue » 08 Dec 2015, 13:55

System: Windows 7/64-bit

When I convert Theta S dual fisheye movies with the Ricoh Spherical Viewer tool, the resulting video bitrate is very low (~2500kbps). I suspect that this could be a reason why the converted videos don't look too great.

The original dual fisheye movie has a bitrate of approx. 16.000kbps.
So as an example an original movie file of 60MB (dual fisheye) gets compressed down to 10MB (equirectangular).

Is there any way to set a higher bitrate for this conversion?

On Windows the Adobe Air GUI is a front-end for tools/DualfishBlender.exe
If you call DualfishBlender.exe you will see that it always converts to a low bitrate video.
It then feeds the low-bitrate video into ffmpeg for some final modifications.
Tried to use "-vb:BITRATE" option but didn't seem to have an effect.
jvrtue
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Dec 2015, 13:41

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby Playerdue » 08 Dec 2015, 19:12

I noticed the same behaviour and I was trying to fiddle with the configurations to achieve a better bitrate. But I had no luck so far. It would be nice to have an official answer from Ricoh about this issue.
Playerdue
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Dec 2015, 20:26

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby jvrtue » 09 Dec 2015, 11:13

Are you also using Windows 7?
Would be interesting to hear from Win10 users if they have the same issue.

Looks like the tool uses Microsoft Media Foundation to do the initial H.264 encode. So might behave differently on Win10.

Btw you can use the "-vw:" option to convert to different target width (960, 480, 240).
Example: DualfishBlender.exe infile.mp4 outfile.mp4 -vw:960

Edit:
Was able to test on Win10 and bitrate goes up to approx. 8000kbps and resulting video is much better.
Bitrate can be lowered with "-vb:" but not further increased.

So yes, would be great to get some feedback from Ricoh on this issue.
jvrtue
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Dec 2015, 13:41

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby Playerdue » 10 Dec 2015, 10:36

Yes, I'm also using Win7. Thanks for sharing the results of your tests!
I will try to contact the Ricoh support and ask them to look into this issue.
Playerdue
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Dec 2015, 20:26

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby abovethescenes » 10 Dec 2015, 14:50

I just received my Theta S and allready was aware of the low quality 1080p video but when i read this topic i tested the first video i shot.
The original file was 16Mbit copied to my Windows 8.1 pc, the converted file for youtube use is 15,1Mbit.
I need to do more testing though.
abovethescenes
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Dec 2015, 14:48

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby abovethescenes » 06 Jan 2016, 14:02

The biterate seems to be changed at random.

Image

I used Mac OSX El Capitan and Windows 8.1
abovethescenes
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Dec 2015, 14:48

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby MichaelEskin » 20 May 2016, 17:25

Has anyone else made any further progress on this?

Looking in the Process Explorer on Windows 7, this is what the Ricoh app is using for parameters as well, matches the Mac info above:

-vb:16220084.007338814 -ab:128000 -ts:0 -af:-20 -dynamic

If you run DualfishBlender from the console with the same parameters and an input and output file name, you'll get the same result as the Ricoh App. If you change the -vb: parameter larger, nothing improves, but smaller values will get you smaller files. Not clear where the rate limiting is happening.
MichaelEskin
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 Apr 2016, 03:23

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby MichaelQuan » 05 Jun 2016, 04:04

For me, there was a significant difference using DualfishBlender.exe on Windows 10 compared to Windows 7 Ultimate x86_64.
My command line:
DualfishBlender.exe -vb:20616111.35739261 -ab:128000 -ts:0 -af:-20 -static -disableGL -ki:1 <input> <output>

Why the weird vb? I just wanted to use a number greater than the one Ricoh is using.
The original mp4 off the Theta S is 17145kb/s
On Win 7:
The output file is 3192kb/s
On Win 10 Pro x86_64:
The output file is 12632kb/s
When playing back via VLC, the Win 10 Pro x86_64 converted file does hit over 1600kb/s at one point.
The test footage is 8 seconds of a mostly static location.
The suck is even with the 4x increase of bit rate it still looks soft.
On a tangent you can disable the accelerometer tracking by using -accFilter:OFF
At least for me, the footage seemed to jitter around a bit when I used that option.
If you do a strings dumps on DualfishBlender.exe you see this:
-tf:
-ts:
-dynamic
-static
-vb:
-ki:
-vw:
-ab:
-disableVTF
-showCapability
OFF
-accFilter:
-thumbInterval:
-thumb:
-threads:
-ignoreTableMagic
-YUY2
-disableGL
-YV12
-NV12
-NONE
-IYUV
-al:
-af:
MichaelQuan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Jun 2016, 12:14

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby MichaelQuan » 06 Jun 2016, 00:35

I just tested out DualfishBlender on OSX 10.11.5 on a late 2008 Macbook.
using -vb:50000000 -ab:128000 -ts:0 -af:-20 -static -ki:1
I'm able to produce a 50091kb/s file. For me anything past 50000000 produces an openCV error while it's transcoding. This is using the same source I was using in the Windows tests.
MichaelQuan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Jun 2016, 12:14

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby Svendus » 06 Jun 2016, 06:28

Video quality from THETAS 360 Video converted with RICOH THETA application
Better Quality in Windows 10
original_raw 163 Mb16018 kbit/s
win_7er 79 Mb 7692 kbit/s
win10_er 160 Mb 15703 kbit/s


i think You Tube reduce to 8000kbit/s

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Svendus
 
Posts: 162
Joined: 16 Dec 2015, 04:51

Re: Low bitrate of converted videos (DualfishBlender.exe)

Postby MichaelQuan » 06 Jun 2016, 17:03

Youtube has bitrate limits dependent on framerate and resolution.

https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/1722171?hl=en
Expand on the bitrate section and you will see the limits.

check under bitrate.
MichaelQuan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Jun 2016, 12:14



Return to Development



All times are UTC